How to Become an IT Consultant for Fame and Profit

I seem to get more emails asking about how to become a self-employed consultant than I do about any other thing I actually blog about.

I’ve not written that much recently so thought I would put up a quick post with some advice around this subject.

So, my top piece of advice (and only piece of advice!) is to buy this book:

The Secret Route to Riches by Dean Paumme

The Secret Route to Riches by Dean Paumme

(Please note, that is not a paid link, just a graphic I’m not getting paid for!)

The above book costs virtually nothing as a kindle download and covers all the things you need to know to get started as a consultant, whether this is as a Business Intelligence expert or any other IT discipline.

I received this book as a gift, about a decade too late for me, but it would have been a life saver (ok, money saver!) back when I was starting out. It’s packed with practical advice on everything from finding contracts to the correct mind set to make the most of it.

About jasondove

I am a consulting BA, with a heavy leaning towards process mapping and Business Intelligence.
This entry was posted in Business Intelligence, CodeProject and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

