Hello world!

A Little About Me

I feel the need to write a little introduction beyond the

“about the author” section.

My work History

I have provided Business Intelligence consultancy for some

of the world’s leading companies and am currently trying to

make the same service available to smaller businesses.

What I Have Learnt

One of the main things that has become apparent through my

consulting is that it does not really matter what the

business is, what the stated requirements are: it is all the

same.

The actual skill-set varies very little whether the

business is selling paint or fighting terrorism. Data is

data and the abilities needed to manipulate it are the

same.

Some databases are easier to access than others, some are

better documented than others or contain a better quality of

data. And these things can have a big impact on the ease of

which BI can be undertaken, but the skills used to build the

BI library do not differ.

Why A Blog?

I wrote a book.

Quite an important one in my opinion.

A book that teaches non-programmers how to build their

own formulas within Crystal Reports.

Outside of software houses, the majority of Crystal

Reports users are not programmers and so do not know about

arrays or variables etc. Unfortunately, this large customer

base is largely forgotten.

So I wrote a book.

I actually enjoyed the writing part it, but getting

published was painfully tedious.

I then wrote a few articles to advertise the book (it is

on Amazon) and my consulting firm, which I also enjoyed.

The book (Crystal Reports Formulas Explained) was/is

moderately successful, as is my consultancy.

So, I enjoy writing, but not publishing, and still have a

few nuggets of wisdom (I hope!) to share.

Here we are: a blog.

I intend to write about more Crystal Reports bits and

pieces and about Business Intelligence as a corporate tool

and other thoughts and musings. I may even write about the

hassle of getting a book printed.

About jasondove

I am a consulting BA, with a heavy leaning towards process mapping and Business Intelligence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

